From the classroom, to the Universe

StarTrek(king) Experience

Not the  Star Trek you’re thinking about, but taking STAR gazing and TREKKING all in the same road. I came along with my good old friends and tried trekking on Mt. Batulao located in Nasagubu, Batangas.

Determined that I’ll do some astronomical observation, I brought a pair of binoculars but with a certain feeling of discontent, perhaps due to aperture addiction, I also packed my ETX 125 with me ,  talk about a spine breaking feat!

And just like all astronomical hard work and en devour of bringing a heavy telescope up in the mountains, nature will always humble man’s desire – in short, clouds and a bit of rain came T_T. It was really, REALLY frustrating to have clouds devour every bit of star in the sky, NOOOOOOOO! is all that I could say.

 

But at the end of it all, having a good time with friends and loved ones,  reconnecting with nature and appreciating its work is satisfying already.

                                                           Watching sunrise, breathing fresh air.

Moon Over Mountain Peek

                                                   As a consolation,the moon gave us a show at dawn.

(Afocal shot of Moon taken from Nokia N8)

 

Asking me if I would bring a telescope up in the mountains? Haha that I do not know!

 

*Images courtesy of Ronald and Alex

2 responses

  1. Hi, this sounds like my observing sessions (my location isn’t so dramatic though). And doesn’t the sky always clear just as it gets too light? Enjoyed your description and photos.

    January 24, 2012 at 2:01 am

    • Thanks! Hoping for more clearer skies to us!

      January 26, 2012 at 11:04 am

Leave a Reply

